Family offices in private credit: allocation, yield and risk
Family office allocations to private credit, how they access it, what direct lending yields in 2026, and the risks regulators flagged in 2025 and 2026.
Key takeaways
Goldman Sachs' 2025 survey put private credit at 4% of portfolios; 26% held none, down from 36% in 2023.
StepStone reported US first-lien direct lending gross yields of 9.17% in June 2026.
Moody's found PIK income at roughly 8% of public BDC income in 2026, up from about 5.5% in 2021.
Private credit is a small but widening allocation for family offices, held mostly through funds rather than direct loans, and it enters 2026 under more regulatory scrutiny than at any point in its growth. Goldman Sachs' 2025 Family Office Investment Insights survey found private credit at 4% of the average portfolio, up from 3% in 2023, with the share of offices holding none falling from 36% to 26%. Campden Wealth's 2025 North America report also put the allocation at 4%, Citi's 2025 report at 3%, and UBS's 2026 report, summarised by Canadian Family Offices, at 3%. StepStone's 1H26 direct lending review reported US first-lien gross asset yields of 9.17% in June 2026, while the Bank of England's July 2026 Financial Stability Report stated that "risky credit markets, including private credit, remain vulnerable to a tightening in financing conditions".
Allocation and intentions
Source (year) | Current allocation | Intention |
|---|---|---|
Goldman Sachs (2025) | 4% | 26% expect to increase |
Campden Wealth North America (2025) | 4% | 21% agree rates more than compensate for credit losses; 25% disagree |
Citi Wealth (2025) | 3% | Net sentiment +12%, down from +22% |
BlackRock (2025) | Not stated | 32% intend to increase, highest of any alternative |
BNY Wealth (2025) | Not stated | 9% will prioritise private credit over the next year |
The intentions diverge. BlackRock's 2025 survey of 175 single family offices found private credit had the highest planned increase of any alternative asset class, with special situations and direct lending the preferred strategies; the Caproasia summary shows 62% favouring special situations and 53% direct lending. BNY Wealth's 2025 survey found only 9% prioritising private credit and noted it "has fallen in ranking as global interest rates decline". FINTRX data reported by Chief Investment Officer in 2026 show 24.1% of all family offices in its database interested in private credit but only 6.3% of offices formed in the second quarter of 2026, the sharpest generational gap of any asset class.
Direct lending or funds
Most family office exposure comes through funds. Campden's 2025 report describes private credit as "mainly accessed through funds", and Goldman's 2025 release says offices rely primarily on managers for alternatives other than real estate. Direct lending by a family office to a company requires origination, credit underwriting and workout capability that few offices maintain. Where families lend directly it is usually to businesses they know, or as co-lenders alongside a fund.
The fund market itself is tilting further towards direct lending. StepStone found direct lending accounted for 69% of private debt fundraising in 2026 to July, up from 67% in 2025, although total private debt fundraising of about $133bn was running well below the $186bn raised in 2025. Preqin's 2026 Global Reports project private credit assets of $4.5tn by 2030, and Moody's expects the market to exceed $2tn in 2026.
What it yields
Goldman's 2025 research, reported by Worth, cited direct lending yields of 8% to 9%. StepStone's June 2026 data put US first-lien gross asset yields at 9.17% and European at 8.85%, with median US contractual spreads of 510 basis points over a three-month SOFR of about 3.7%. Realised returns have been lower than gross yields: the Cliffwater senior direct lending index returned 8.1% over the four quarters to March 2026, down from 10.5% a year earlier, with trailing net realised losses of 0.37% and net unrealised losses of 1.28%. New US deals were being struck at 4.62x total leverage with interest coverage close to 2.5x.
Risks flagged in 2025 and 2026
Three sources are worth reading in full. The Bank of England's July 2026 report lists "high leverage, complexity and opacity" as persistent vulnerabilities, notes that "redemption requests have been elevated in several retail funds" with some limiting withdrawals, and says its second system-wide exploratory scenario is examining how stress could propagate in these markets. It also cites an OECD estimate that private credit's share of AI investment financing rose from 9% in 2024 to 34% in 2025.
Moody's September 2026 note identifies four signals. The asset-weighted one-year default probability of public business development companies was about 0.49% in June 2026, against 0.25% for Baa-rated corporates, a gap that had more than tripled in a year. Payment-in-kind income had risen to roughly 8% of public BDC gross investment income from about 5.5% in 2021. Withdrawal requests at some non-traded vehicles reached about 10.5% by spring 2026, more than twice a typical 5% quarterly gate. StepStone's data show BDC payment defaults at 2.1% in March 2026, or 4.3% including PIK amendments.
For a family office the practical questions are liquidity terms, how the manager marks loans, and PIK exposure. Rate sensitivity is covered in higher-for-longer rates and family office debt, and the role of private credit against cash and bonds in cash and fixed income for family offices. Families who are themselves borrowers against private portfolios will find the lender's perspective in NAV loans for family offices explained.
Questions
How much do family offices allocate to private credit?
Goldman Sachs' 2025 survey of 245 family offices put private credit at 4% of the average portfolio, up from 3% in 2023, with 26% holding none. Campden Wealth's 2025 North America report also found 4%, while Citi's 2025 report and UBS's 2026 report both found 3%.
What does direct lending yield in 2026?
StepStone reported US first-lien direct lending gross asset yields of 9.17% in June 2026 and European yields of 8.85%, with median US spreads of 510 basis points. Realised index returns were lower: the Cliffwater senior direct lending index returned 8.1% over the four quarters to March 2026.
What risks have regulators flagged in private credit?
The Bank of England's July 2026 Financial Stability Report cited high leverage, complexity, opacity and elevated redemption requests in retail funds. Moody's September 2026 note highlighted a widening default probability gap versus public credit, PIK income at about 8% of BDC income and withdrawal requests above fund gates.
Sources
2025 Family Office Investment Insights Report (press release), Goldman Sachs, 2025
Goldman Sachs family office report: what the wealthiest families are doing, Worth, 2025
The North America Family Office Report 2025, Campden Wealth and RBC, 2025
2025 Global Family Office Report, Citi Wealth, 2025
New UBS Global Family Office Report finds governance and succession gaps and a broadening investment focus, Canadian Family Offices, 2026
BlackRock Global Family Office Survey 2025 (press release), BlackRock, 2025
BlackRock Global Family Office Report 2025 (summary), Caproasia, 2025
Family Offices Are Hungry for Direct Investments, Private Equity, per Report, Chief Investment Officer (reporting FINTRX Q2 2026 data), 2026
2025 Investment Insights: Single Family Offices, BNY Wealth, 2025
Recent trends in corporate direct lending, 1H26, StepStone Group, 2026
Private credit risk: four signals below the headline, Moody's, 2026
Financial Stability Report, July 2026, Bank of England, 2026
Global Reports 2026: Key Findings Snapshot, Preqin, 2026